4 TEFL Letdowns

Teaching Children

Expectation:
We’ll sit in a circle, sing The Wheels On The Bus, play Pass the Parcel and do endless rounds of Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, Knees and Toes…

Reality:
Kids. Running. Everywhere.

too much

 
The Work Week

Expectation:
The hours are kind of crazy but at least I’ll have the whole weekend to recuperate.

Reality:
yeah-Im-gonna-7vl74t

 
Pay Day

Expectation:
Yeah, baby! It’s pay day! I could use a lavish night out on the town.

Reality:

paid late

 
Communication between school administration and teachers

Expectation:
If my private class, all the way across town, gets cancelled, the school will notify me immediately so I won’t have to waste my time travelling there.

Reality:
I spend 40 minutes on a cramped bus, hike up an incredibly steep hill and my student never shows up. I call the school – they apologize for not letting me know.

Tom-Hiddleston

This post started off somewhat light-hearted but the more I wrote, the more bitter I got so uh, sorry about that. Just letting you know how it is.

Were you, in any way, disappointed by TEFL? Share your thoughts with the class.

Say something

